Okay so the last two times I posted on here I did not attach a link on Facebook my mom was saying that she liked that so she knew when I posted. My mom told me that Aunt Patti was saying she didn't know when I was posting so she didn't know when to check. So I guess I will continue to post a link on facebook when I post on here. If it is too much just let me know. I don't want to be consuming all of your virtual time :)
Anyways things are going well I have been keeping busy. I have been going to meetings and figuring out that I should plan nothing because things can change in a minute. Which is okay because it means that I am staying busy. Though when I am planning on going to the market to buy fruits and vegetables that I needed I got a little frustrated. But it’s a learning experience I just know if I want to make sure I go to the market I should go before I go into work and things change. I talked to my mom that day on skype and then headed to the little area to get some tomatoes, eggs, and bread to hold me over till I could get into town to get some more vegetables. On my way I saw a few people that I know and chatted which was nice then I was cleaning up my yard a papaya tree rotted out and fell over in my yard so the monkeys were flocking to my house not what I want. One was sitting on my window sill and just watching me until i noticed and scared him away. They were also on my back brick fence eating and watching me until I sacred them away. Anyway needless to say I found out that they are harmless to people from the locals they just want food for the most part. I also saw two having sex in the tree in front of my house haha. Later that day my neighbor gave me this outdoor broom that I could have and then I chased the kids around with it they thought it was so much fun. So needless to say I was quickly reminded that though I may have frustrations along the way there are great people here that are worth it.
I have a tutor that is helping me learn Chichewa which is going slowly but that is to be expected. So many people speak english here it is not a problem but to really help the poorest people I will need to learn it because they are the ones that have not had the opportunity to go to school and learn English. But when I go to the bank and the post office they all speak english to me which is nice kind of but also not helping me learn I try to great them in Chichewa but they often just start talking to me in English because they know that is easier for me. So it is just a matter of me forcing myself to chat to more people in Chichewa. It will come eventually.
Last week I did some local traveling with TRF(Tea Research Foundation) to meet with smallholder tea farmers. It was nice to see other villages and all the people dedicated to growing tea. I of course got introduced I am struggling with being the "center of attention" at times. I try to just blend in but well that just doesn't work :) I am sure people will in a sense get used to seeing me around and know who I am but until then. Some guy asked if I worked for BBC news I thought that was funny I think he was trying to make a joke with getting to know what I was doing at the meeting.
Oh I figured out that I need to close my bathroom door at night otherwise a bat likes to make it's home in there. I went in at night didn't really look up even though I had suspected a bat or some odd rodent to be going in there. Then i was sitting on the toilet felt something hit me and looked up and saw that a bat had just pooped on me. I will be honest I did freak out and ran out and finished peeing outside. I think because I was so surprised. But since then I have been closing the door and no bat poop and no sightings. So learning some basic life skills along the way :)
Things are going well and just trying to figure out some of the things that will make my house more like a home for the next two years. I have been reading a lot so that has been nice. I have already finished 6 books since being here.
Well I hope all are doing well and Everyone has a great Memorial Day Weekend.